Summer 2020

Editor's note

The shape of things to come

For our Summer edition of AMS our focus is firmly on the future, but the technologies we’re covering are not new, having been around in some form or another for decades. What’s interesting is how they are being developed to meet the needs of the next generation of vehicles. Additive manufacturing technology has become an important part of the production process, new developments seeing parts and tooling produced faster and cheaper than ever before, and in higher volumes. Articles on BMW and Ricoh highlight just how integrated 3D printing has become in the vehicle production process and just how much more potential there is to be realised.


Materials are also finding new applications, such as the meta-material technology that had previously be used for high-sensitivity antennas and is now being developed by Nissan as a lightweight acoustic material for use in electric vehicles. Developments in carbon fibre component forming have resulted in this lightweight material increasingly being used in vehicle structures and our article on a bespoke pultrusion process reveals how this forming method helped to give the latest Corvette Stingray some carbon fibre curves.


EV batteries and motors continue to develop in terms of design, packing and performance, all of which requires appropriate testing systems and processes. Although EV technology is now well established, OEMs are still on a learning curve when it comes to performance testing these components and this aspect is becoming more important as vehicle makers look for gains in efficiency and performance.


We have two articles from industry experts in the respective fields of EV battery pack and motor testing, who provide some real insight into the ongoing developments of these key components and the challenges of creating test processes and equipment.


Producing this issue revealed to us how far all these technologies have progressed into mainstream vehicle production operation, and also how much more there is yet to come.

  

Nick Holt, Editor, Automotive Manufacturing Solutions

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Deputy editor Gareth Price gareth.price@ultimamedia.com

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mark Dickin, Chuck Hagyard

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Design director Matt Crane matt.crane@ultimamedia.com 

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Head of audience and marketing Chris Mott chris.mott@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Office manager and sales support Jo Fordrey jo.fordrey@ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Copyright© 2020 Ultima Media Ltd.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any material form (including photocopying or storing it in any medium by electronic means and whether or not transiently or incidentally to some other use of this publication) without the written permission of the copyright owner except in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright, Designs & Patents Act (UK) 1988 or under the terms of a licence issued by the Copyright Licensing Agency, 90 Tottenham Court Road, London W1P 0LP UK.


Applications for the copyright owner’s permission to reproduce any part of this publication should be forwarded in writing to Permissions Department, Ultima Media, 401 King Street, Hammersmith, London, W6 9NJ, UK.


Warning: The doing of an unauthorised act in relation to a copyright work may result in both a civil claim for damages and criminal prosecution.