Quality Control 2021

Editor's note

A quality combination

The issue of quality control for automotive manufacturers is ever present, and one which has, over decades, seen a great deal of development in technologies and processes. It effects every stage of the vehicle build process from materials and components to assembly operations, and each stage has its own specific quality requirements but all share one constant challenge: the continuously moving production flow. 
 
In the past this has made it difficult to perform high accuracy inline quality checks, with manufacturers required to take selected assemblies at different stages off the line and perform static quality inspections. These are accurate but time consuming. Advances in automation and vision systems have now made inline checks much more repeatable and accurate. As we reveal in this edition, advances in software, automation, vision systems are combining to provide tangible solutions in quality control processes. Also, the system developers are combining the capabilities of different platforms to deliver solutions to new challenges, a good example being the assembly of electric motors.
 
However, as we’ve seen, quality control isn’t reserved to production line operations, it starts at the very earliest stages of developing the production processes for any given part or vehicle. From planning and designing the factory layout and the flow of production, to successfully managing the long, complex supply chains that support automotive manufacturing, all make a vital contribution to the quality of the end product.
 
Cover video courtesy of Skoda and Hexagon MI 

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Deputy editor Gareth Price gareth.price@ultimamedia.com

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mark Dickin, Chuck Hagyard

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Design director Matt Crane matt.crane@ultimamedia.com 

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Head of audience and marketing Chris Mott chris.mott@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Office manager and sales support Jo Fordrey jo.fordrey@ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mike Farish, Richard Gotch

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital creative designer Gemma Wood gemma.wood@ultimamedia.com

Digital journalist Jason Dunn jason.dunn@ultimamedia.com

CRM and data manager Alistair Hankey alistair.Hankey@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Copyright© 2021 Ultima Media Ltd.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any material form (including photocopying or storing it in any medium by electronic means and whether or not transiently or incidentally to some other use of this publication) without the written permission of the copyright owner except in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright, Designs & Patents Act (UK) 1988 or under the terms of a licence issued by the Copyright Licensing Agency, 90 Tottenham Court Road, London W1P 0LP UK.


Applications for the copyright owner’s permission to reproduce any part of this publication should be forwarded in writing to Permissions Department, Ultima Media, 401 King Street, Hammersmith, London, W6 9NJ, UK.


Warning: The doing of an unauthorised act in relation to a copyright work may result in both a civil claim for damages and criminal prosecution.