Paintshop 2022

Editor's note

Small steps and giant leaps

The drive to improve efficiency, reduce costs, materials and energy consumption is nothing new to the automotive manufacturing sector. In fact, if you talk to anyone running a production line in any part of a plant, they will tell you that this is at the core of what they do. All these requirements are monitored and adjusted on a daily if not hourly basis. Production lines need constant monitoring as the smallest problem can result in a costly slow down or even stoppage in the workflow.


And having this focus and experience is a definite advantage as all the above requirements are under renewed scrutiny as the automotive industry now needs to make all aspects of its operations more sustainable.


Perhaps nowhere are these challenges to improve sustainability more acutely felt than in the paintshop. Here the vehicle body undergoes a number of time, energy and materials consuming processes, each with its own very specific requirements in terms of equipment, application and curing. Add to this a very stringent quality control process, all together there is little room for manoeuvre.


In this edition of AMS we look at some of the innovations and solutions being employed by car makers. Digitalisation is clearly offering many opportunities and benefits in delivering improvements without the need for more substantial changes to the physical infrastructure of established paintshops. Also, what is clear is the measured, considered approach towards making this process more sustainable is seeing tangible results. However, the application of AI and the developments in reconfiguring the traditional linear paint line into a flexible, modular layout show there are more radical approaches in the pipeline.


You can also see more on the topic of paintshops by watching the recording of our most recent Livestream.


Also, we have just broadcast our first online Evolution summit, covering the automotive industry’s accelerating shift towards electric vehicles, which you can view here.


Cover video courtesy of Skoda

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Deputy editor Gareth Price gareth.price@ultimamedia.com

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mark Dickin, Chuck Hagyard

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Design director Matt Crane matt.crane@ultimamedia.com 

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Head of audience and marketing Chris Mott chris.mott@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Office manager and sales support Jo Fordrey jo.fordrey@ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mike Farish, Daniel Harrison

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital creative designer Gemma Wood gemma.wood@ultimamedia.com

Digital journalist Jason Dunn jason.dunn@ultimamedia.com

CRM and data manager Alistair Hankey alistair.Hankey@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Moritz Warth moritz.warth@mi-connect.de

Copyright© 2022 Ultima Media Ltd.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any material form (including photocopying or storing it in any medium by electronic means and whether or not transiently or incidentally to some other use of this publication) without the written permission of the copyright owner except in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright, Designs & Patents Act (UK) 1988 or under the terms of a licence issued by the Copyright Licensing Agency, 90 Tottenham Court Road, London W1P 0LP UK.


Applications for the copyright owner’s permission to reproduce any part of this publication should be forwarded in writing to Permissions Department, Ultima Media, 401 King Street, Hammersmith, London, W6 9NJ, UK.


Warning: The doing of an unauthorised act in relation to a copyright work may result in both a civil claim for damages and criminal prosecution.