E-mobility 2021

Editor's note

Committing to an all-electric future

Recently several of the leading car makers have made bold but not totally surprising commitments to building only electric vehicles in the near future. Not surprising, in that legislation will eventually prohibit the sale of ICE-powered cars and that consumer interest in and demand for electric vehicles is increasing. But behind the glossy ad campaigns a huge amount of work, innovation and restructuring will be required to transition and transform the OEM’s respective manufacturing networks. In our latest digital edition, we take a look at some of these announcements and see which brands might be best placed to make the switch and those that have some catching up to do.


As we know, all this has and will continue to drive a lot of innovation and investment in manufacturing operations. We spoke to Mahle and Atlas Copco to gain some insight into how they are adapting their respective businesses, developing new vehicle systems and tooling, and investing in new competences as they reposition themselves from product suppliers to full technical partners to the OEMs.


What becomes clear is that we are only at the start of the e-mobility journey. As the major OEMs set out ambitious strategies for the electrification of their respective model line-ups, we have yet to see the impact to be made by the numerous start-up EV producers, with their new business models and alternative approaches to manufacturing.


Keep up to speed with in-depth analysis from our Business Intelligence unit, providing flash analysis and briefings, in-depth reports, forecasts and market research, covering the major trends impacting the automotive industry, including manufacturing processes.


Nick Holt, Editor

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Deputy editor Gareth Price gareth.price@ultimamedia.com

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mark Dickin, Chuck Hagyard

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Design director Matt Crane matt.crane@ultimamedia.com 

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Head of audience and marketing Chris Mott chris.mott@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Office manager and sales support Jo Fordrey jo.fordrey@ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Illya Verpraet, Ralf Bretting, Pascal Nagel, Götz Fuchslocher

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Copyright© 2020 Ultima Media Ltd.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any material form (including photocopying or storing it in any medium by electronic means and whether or not transiently or incidentally to some other use of this publication) without the written permission of the copyright owner except in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright, Designs & Patents Act (UK) 1988 or under the terms of a licence issued by the Copyright Licensing Agency, 90 Tottenham Court Road, London W1P 0LP UK.


Applications for the copyright owner’s permission to reproduce any part of this publication should be forwarded in writing to Permissions Department, Ultima Media, 401 King Street, Hammersmith, London, W6 9NJ, UK.


Warning: The doing of an unauthorised act in relation to a copyright work may result in both a civil claim for damages and criminal prosecution.


Cover video courtesy of Audi