Automotive Coatings 2020

Editor's note

No compromise

How do you create a paint finish on a car that is aesthetically pleasing, highly durable, simple to apply, fast curing and using a minimum of materials and energy to achieve all of the above? This is the big challenge that continually faces the paintshop section of the production process. Taken individually, solutions can and have been found, but since finding one solution will quite probably affect another aspect of the process, the ongoing developments have to be increasingly joined-up. 


Speaking to automotive coatings experts who will be presenting at the Surcar NA virtual event in October (p4), much of the emphasis was on streamlining paint application and curing processes, and making paint booths as flexible as possible. And while this is already enough of a challenge, our latest podcast, featured on p8, highlights some of the additional questions and issues raised by the new generation of electric vehicles that feature different architectures and materials; something OEM’s will have to consider as they process increasing numbers of these vehicles. 


New developments in application technologies and coatings undoubtedly provide the answer to many of these challenges. Smart paint booths, AI systems, modular layouts for paintshops are all in development and will no doubt be deployed as older paint facilities are upgraded or replaced. All of this will mean changes to processes and coatings, but throughout the production process maintaining quality remains a priority and perhaps nowhere is this more visually apparent than in a vehicle’s paint finish. So, although faced with this array of challenges there is no room for compromise when is comes to the paintshop.

  

Nick Holt, Editor, Automotive Manufacturing Solutions


Video courtesy of Durr

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Deputy editor Gareth Price gareth.price@ultimamedia.com

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Contributors Mark Dickin, Chuck Hagyard

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Design director Matt Crane matt.crane@ultimamedia.com 

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Head of audience and marketing Chris Mott chris.mott@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Office manager and sales support Jo Fordrey jo.fordrey@ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Editor Nick Holt nick.holt@ultimamedia.com

Deputy editor Gareth Price gareth.price@ultimamedia.com

Editor-in-chief Christopher Ludwig christopher.ludwig@ultimamedia.com

Publisher and sales Andrew Fallon andrew.fallon@ultimamedia.com

Senior designer Steven Singh Bains steven.bains@ultimamedia.com

Digital designer Hannah Lindsay hannah.lindsay@ultimamedia.com

Circulation and database Justyna Wanczyk justyna.wanczyk@ ultimamedia.com

Head of finance Kanokkan Durrant kanokkan.durrant@ultimamedia.com

Managing director Gavin Miller gavin.miller@ultimamedia.com 

Copyright© 2020 Ultima Media Ltd.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any material form (including photocopying or storing it in any medium by electronic means and whether or not transiently or incidentally to some other use of this publication) without the written permission of the copyright owner except in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright, Designs & Patents Act (UK) 1988 or under the terms of a licence issued by the Copyright Licensing Agency, 90 Tottenham Court Road, London W1P 0LP UK.


Applications for the copyright owner’s permission to reproduce any part of this publication should be forwarded in writing to Permissions Department, Ultima Media, 401 King Street, Hammersmith, London, W6 9NJ, UK.


Warning: The doing of an unauthorised act in relation to a copyright work may result in both a civil claim for damages and criminal prosecution.